Ohio State Law requires any dog over the age of three (3) months to have a license within 30 days of ownership. Any license purchased after 30 days of ownership, or renewed after the annual renewal period must include a penalty equal to the cost of the license. Your dog’s license may be purchased at the Auditor’s office Monday through Friday between 8:00 and 4:30. Also check the list of Agents below.
|Lake County Auditor||105 Main St.||Painesville||OH||44077||440-350-2534|
|Lake County Dog Shelter||2600 North Ridge Rd.||Painesville||OH||44077||440-350-2640|
|Creative Canines||1936 Hubbard Rd.||Madison||OH||44057||440-417-4808|
|Crile Road Hardware||8115 Crile Rd.||Concord||OH||44077||440-352-3761|
|Discount Drug Mart – Concord||8023 Crile Rd.||Painesville||OH||44077||440-853-2542|
|Discount Drug Mart – Eastlake||34100 Vine St.||Eastlake||OH||44095||440-942-3330|
|Discount Drug Mart – Mentor||8500 Mentor Ave.||Mentor||OH||44060||440-255-0040|
|Lake Humane Society||7564 Tyler Blvd. Unit E||Mentor||OH||44060||440-951-6122|
|Perry Coal & Feed||4204 Main St.||Perry||OH||44081||440-259-2281|
|Pet Paradise||35535 Euclid Ave.||Willoughby||OH||44094||440-942-9016|
|Pet Supply Plus||7315 Mentor Ave.||Mentor||OH||44060||440-918-9480|
|Pet-Tastic Grooming||8691 Twinbrook Rd.||Mentor||OH||44060||440-205-1899|
Ohio Law requires that licenses be renewed each year between December 1st and January 31st.
- Adult Dog License 1 year – $20.00 PER DOG due by January 31st (late fee of $20.00 per dog will apply if not postmarked by due date).
- Adult Dog License 3 year – $60.00 PER DOG
- Adult Dog License Permanent – $200.00 PER DOG
- Kennel License – $100.00 for five tags and is available through the Auditor’s Office ONLY (additional tags may be purchased for $1.00 each) due by January 31st (late fee of $100.00 will apply if not postmarked by due date).
- A duplicate license is only $5.00. To transfer a current license to a new owner is only $5.00. Transfer ownership certificate.
We ask all dog owners to place the new dog tag on the dog’s collar immediately to help insure your dog’s safe return home.
Current Licenses From Outside Lake County
If you move to Lake County from another county within Ohio we will honor the license until it is expired. If you move here from another state you are required to purchase a license within 30 days.
Dog licenses are designed to assist in the location and return of a lost pet.
- Cigarette License Application – CIG40
- Cigarette License Proration Sheet – May 22, 2023 through May 27, 2024
Anyone who sells or transports cigarettes within Lake County must obtain a yearly Cigarette Dealer’s License.
Licenses are to be renewed annually between May 1st and the 4th Monday in May. The retail dealer needs to fill out a brief registration form and pay the annual fee. Licenses are good for a one-year period that runs from the 4th Monday in May to the 4th Monday of May the next year. Retail licenses bought after the 4th Monday in May, for new businesses, are subject to pro-rating and can only be purchased at the office of the Lake County Auditor.
Retail Dealer’s Cigarette Licenses may only be purchased at the County Auditor’s Office or by mail. The application form is available above and can be printed out and sent to: Lake County Auditor, Cigarette Licensing, 105 Main St Suite C101, Ohio 44077 with the licensing fee of $125 per physical location.
If you are transferring an existing retail cigarette license to another location within Lake County, you can only do so at the offices of the Lake County Auditor for a $5 fee.
- Vendor’s License Application – ST1
- Vendor’s License: Ohio Business Gateway
- NAICS Codes – Alphabetically
- NAICS Codes – Numerically
Every Ohio retailer (vendor) making taxable retail sales must obtain a vendor’s license, collect sales tax, file tax returns with payment of tax collected, and maintain complete records of transactions.
There are two types of Vendor’s Licenses – Regular and Transient (Transient Licenses can ONLY be purchased through the State of Ohio) Regular/County Vendor’s License is the only vendor’s license issued by the Lake County Auditor Office and is required to sell products at a fixed place of business within the county. Vendors with multiple locations must obtain one regular vendor’s license for each fixed sales location. The application fee is $25, and there is no annual renewal fee.
Vendor’s Licenses can be purchased at the County Auditor’s Office, by mail or using the state’s registration portal. The application form is available above and can be printed out and sent to: Lake County Auditor, Vendor’s Licensing, 105 Main St Suite C101, Ohio 44077 with the licensing fee of $25 per physical location.