Skip to Resources Section

Non probate assets of the decedent may be transferred by contracts such as joint and survivorship property or payable on death accounts. Probate assets may be transferred through the Lake County Probate Court.  Administration of estate consists of making sure that probate assets are gathered, preserved, and allocated among the heirs of the decedent, beneficiaries, and/or creditors according to Ohio statute and decedent’s will.

Procedure for Full Administration

Initial Deposit ( Cash / Check / Money Order Only) $200

With Will

  • Photocopy of the Death Certificate
  • The Original Last Will and Testament of Decedent
  • Application to Probate Will (Form 2.0) with the filing fee
  • Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin, Legatees and Devisees (Form 1.0)
  • Application for Authority to Administer Estate (Form 4.0)
  • Fiduciary’s Bond (Form 4.2) If Applicable 

Without Will

  • Photocopy of the Death Certificate
  • Application for Authority to Administer Estate (Form 4.0)
  • Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin, Legatees and Devisees (Form 1.0)
  • Waiver of Right to Administer (Form 4.3) If Applicable
  • Fiduciary’s Bond (Form 4.2) If Applicable

All forms can be mailed to: 
Lake County Probate Court
P.O. Box 490
Painesville, Ohio 44077

Initial Full Administration Packet

 Form
Checklist-Initial Filing Of Full Administration of Estate Intestate (No Will) 
Checklist-Initial Filing Of Full Administration of Estate Testate (With Will) 
Checklist and Packet-Full Administration with Will 
Checklist and Packet-Full Administration without Will 
Supplemental Application for Ancillary Administration 
Form 1.0 Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin 
Form 2.0 Application to Probate Will 
Form 2.1 Waiver of Notice of Probate of Will 
Form 2.2 Notice of Probate of Will 
Form 2.4 Certificate of Service of Notice of Probate of Will 
Form 3.0 Appointment of Appraiser$5
Form 4.0 Application for Authority to Administer Estate$5

Inventory

 Form
Checklist and Packet – Inventory on Estate Administration$17
Checklist for Inventory -Estate Administration 
Form 6.0 Inventory and Appraisal 
Form 6.1 Schedule of Assets 
LCPC Form 6.10 Application to Extend Time to File Inventory in an Estate$5
Form 6.2 Waiver of Notice of Hearing on Inventory 
Form 6.3 Notice of Hearing on Inventory 
LCPC Form 6.33 AA Certificate of Service on Inventory 

Insolvency

 Form
Checklist-Insolvency 
Checklist and Packet-Insolvency $30
Representation of Insolvency 

Fiduciary’s Account

 Form
Checklist – Partial and Final Accounts for Estate Administration 
Checklist and Packet- Final and Distributive Account for Estate AdministrationCALL FOR COST DUE
Checklist and Packet- Partial Account for Estate AdministrationCALL FOR COST DUE
Form 13.0 Fiduciary’s Account 
Form 13.1 Receipts and Disbursements 
Form 13.10 Notice to Extend Administration$5
Form 13.2 Assets Remaining in Fiduciary’s Hands 
Form 13.4 Waiver of Partial AccountCALL FOR COST DUE
Form 13.6 Certificate of TerminationCALL FOR COST DUE
Form 13.7A Waiver and Notice and Consent to Account 
Form 13.8 Application to Extend Administration$5
Form 13.9 Certificate or Service of Account to Heirs or Beneficiaries 
LCPC Form 4.0 Computation of Ordinary Attorney Fees 
LCPC Form 4.02 Computation of Executor or Administrator Fees 

Reopen Estate

 Form
Checklist Reopening an Estate in Order to Administer Newly Discovered Assets in a Full Administration/Unclaimed Funds 
Checklist and Packet-Reopen Estate 
LCPC Form 6.13 Application to Distribute Unclaimed Funds 
LCPC Form 6.14-Motion to Reopen 
LCPC Form 6.15-Report of Newly Discovered Assets and Judgment Entry 
Form 1.0 Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin 
LCPC Form 5.9 Report of Distribution 

Individual Forms

 Form
Form 4.1 Supplemental Application for Ancillary Administration 
Form 4.3 Waiver of Right to Administer 
LCPC Form 5.9 Report of Distribution 
LCPC FORM 6.15- Report of Newly Discovered Assets 
Form 7.0 Certification of Notice to Administrator of Medicaid Estate Recovery Program 
Form 7.1 Application for Family Allowance$5
Form 8.3 Summary of General Rights of Surviving Spouse 
Form 8.6 Waiver of Service to Surviving Spouse of the Citation to Elect 
Form 9.0 Application to Sell Personal Property$22
Form 9.C Application for Transfer of Motor Vehicle$7
Consent to Transfer of Motor Vehicle 
Form 11.0 Consent to Power to Sell Real Estate 
Form 12.0 Application for Certificate of Transfer$7
Form 12.1 Certificate to Transfer 
Form 22.3 Verification of Receipt and Deposit 
LCPC Form 4.1 Application to Waive Bond 
LCPC Form 6.16 Status Report 
Consent to Auditor’s Valuation 
Instructions for Service 
Application to Pay or Deliver Minor’s Estate$10
Application to Reduce Bond$5

Real Estate Transfer without Will

  Information and Procedure
Initial Deposit ( Cash / Check / Money Order Only)
Without Will $32.00
With Tax Form 22 $37.00
With Full Tax $62.00  

Photocopy of death certificate
Application for Certificate of Transfer (Form 12.0) with filing fee
Certificate of Transfer (Form 12.1)
Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin, Legatees and Devisees (Form 1.0)
Proof of Auditor Value and Legal Description of the Property (Deed)

For dates of death prior to January 1, 2013 Form ET 22 is required
Additional fee $30 if Section A is filled out
Additional fee $5 if Section B is filled out

All forms can be mailed to:
Lake County Probate Court
P.O. Box 490
Painesville, Ohio 44077

Initial Real Estate Transfer without Will Packet

 Form
Checklist-Certificate of Transfer 
Checklist and Packet-Certificate of Transfer Without Will 

Forms

 Form
Form 1.0 Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin, Legatees and Devises 
Form 12.0 Application for Certificate of Transfer 
Form 12.1 Certificate of Transfer 
Form 22 Certificate of Estate Tax Payment and Real Property Disclosure for Dates of Death on or after November 8, 1990

Real Estate Transfer with Will

 Information and Procedure
Initial Deposit ( Cash / Check / Money Order Only) 
With Will $62.00
With Tax Form 22 $67.00
With Full Tax $92.00 

Photocopy of death certificate
Original Will
Application to Probate Will (Form 2.0)
Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin, Legatees and Devisees (Form 1.0)
Waiver of Notice of Probate of Will (Form 2.1)
Certificate of Service of Notice of Probate of Will
Application for Certificate of Transfer (Form 12.0)
Certificate of Transfer (Form 12.1)
Proof of Auditor Value and Legal Description of the property (Deed)

For dates of death prior to January 1, 2013, Form ET 22 is required
Additional fee of $30 If Section A is filled out
Additional fee of $5 if Section B is filled out

All forms can be mailed to:
Lake County Probate court
P.O. Box 490
Painesville, Ohio 44077

Initial Real Estate Transfer with Will Packet

 Form
Checklist-Certificate of Transfer 
Checklist and Packet-Certificate of Transfer with Will 

Forms

Form
Form 1.0 Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin, Legatees and Devisees 
Form 2.0 Application to Probate Will 
Form 2.1 Waiver of Notice of Probate of Will 
Form 2.2 Notice of Probate of Will 
Form 2.4 Certificate of Service of Notice of Probate of Will 
Form 12.0 Application for Certificate of Transfer 
Form 12.1 Certificate of Transfer 
Estate Form 22: Certificate of Estate Tax Payment and Real Property Disclosure for Dates of Death on or after November 8, 1990

Safe Deposit Box

Information and Procedure    
Initial Deposit ( Cash / Check / Money Order Only) $32.00

Application for Appointment of a Commissioner to Report on the Contents of a Safe Deposit Box (LCPC Form 3.0)
Waiver and Consent of Next of Kin, Legatees, and Devisees of Appointment of Commissioner (LCPC Form 3.1)
Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of Kin, Legatees and Devisees (Form 1.0)
Judgment Entry (LCPC 3.2)

All forms can be mailed to:
Lake County Probate Court
P.O. Box 490
Painesville, Ohio 44077

Safe Deposit Box Packet

 Form 
Safe Deposit Box Download

Forms

 Form
Application for Appointment of a Commissioner 
Waiver and Consent of Next of Kin, Legatees, and Devisees of Appointment of Commissioner 
Form 1.0 Next of Kin 
Judgment Entry 
Report of Contents 
Application to Extend Time to File Commissioner’s Report$5