Skip to Resources Section

Adoption Record Information

The Ohio Department of Health, Office of Vital Statistics, houses birth and adoption records of persons born in Ohio and adopted anywhere in the United States.

 Below is the list of adoption laws and procedures that are used in Ohio: 

Adoptions Prior to January 1, 1964

Adoption records are open to adoptee’s whose birth occurred in Ohio, with proper identification.  Also available for lineal descendants with proof of identity and genetic linkage.

Adoptions Between January 1, 1964 and September 18, 1996

Adoption records are open to adoptee’s whose birth occurred in Ohio, with proper identification.  Also available for lineal descendants with proof of identity and genetic linkage.


Adoptions After September 18, 1996

Adoption records are open to adoptive parents when the adopted person is between 18-21 years of age.  If the adopted person is 21 years or older, the records are open to the adoptee.

https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/vital-statistics/Adoption-File-Information/

For more information, please visit the website listed above or contact  the Ohio Department of Health customer service team at (614) 466-2531.