
LAKE COUNTY’S SENIORS 
 

Currently, over 22% of Lake County’s 
population is age 60 years and older. This 
number will only increase over the years as 
our population ages. By the year 2030, it is 
anticipated that ‘one of three residents will 
be 60 years and older’.  

 
GUIDING VALUE 

 
Every action taken by Adult Protective 
Services must balance the duty to protect 
the safety of the vulnerable adult along with 
the adult’s right to remain independent. 

 
PRINCIPLES OF ADULT 
 PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

 
*Adults have the right to be 
independent 
*Adults have the right to be safe 
*Adults retain all of their civil & 
constitutional rights, unless these rights 
have been restricted by court action 
*Adults have the right to make decisions 
about how they choose to live, as long as 
these decisions do not harm others 
*Adults are presumed to have decision-
making capabilities unless a court rules 
otherwise 
*Adults have the right to refuse or 
accept services 
 

 
HOW CAN YOU HELP? 

 
To report incidents of adult abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation or receive more information 
about elder maltreatment, please call: 
 

Lake County Department of 
Job and Family Services 

177 Main St. 
Painesville, Ohio 44077 

 
24 Hour Abuse Hotline 

(440) 350-4000  
Press Option 1 

FAX: (440) 350-4010 
 

Agency Hours:  Mon – Fri, 8:00 am – 4:30 pm 
 
Every call is documented and reviewed to 
determine a potential course of action. 
Services will be extended, whenever 
possible.  
 

All calls are confidential. 
Anonymous reports are accepted. 

 
 
 
 

 

TAKE A STEP TO HELP PREVENT 
ADULT ABUSE 

CALL 440 350 4000 
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ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICE LAW 
 

Ohio’s Adult Protective Services Law was 
enacted in 1981 and is outlined in the Ohio 
Revised Code (ORC 5101.60). This law 
provides for the reporting and investigation 
of known or suspected instances of abuse, 
neglect or exploitation affecting vulnerable 
adults age 60 years older and residing in the 
community. 

 
 

WHO HAS JURISDICTION? 
 

Lake County Department of Job and Family 
Services is responsible for implementing 
the Adult Protective Services Law, which 
includes receiving calls about maltreatment 
and investigating reports of abuse, neglect 
and exploitation of vulnerable adults. 
 
 

ADULT ABUSE, NEGLECT AND 
EXPLOITATION 

 
Abuse and neglect of vulnerable adults may 
be intentional or unintentional. Some forms 
are the result of action or inaction by 
caretakers, resulting in potential harm to the 
older adult. Additionally, vulnerable adults 
neglect themselves by refusing medication, 
refusing supportive services or by living in 
an unsafe or unsanitary environment. 
Caregivers may abuse, neglect or exploit 
those for whom they provide care. 
 
 
 
 

TYPES OF MALTREATMENT: 
 
ABUSE is the infliction upon an adult by 
him/herself or others of injury, 
unreasonable confinement, intimidation or  
cruel punishment with resulting physical 
harm, pain or mental anguish. Some 
indicators can include: 
*slapping, hitting, biting                                                                                  
*unexplained injuries, including bruises, 
cuts, burns, broken bones 
*confining an adult against their will, locking 
them in a room, tying him/her to furniture 
*threats of intimidation, caretaker refusing 
access to the adult  
 
SELF NEGLECT / NEGLECT is the failure of 
an adult or a caregiver to provide goods or 
services necessary to avoid physical harm, 
mental anguish, or mental illness. Some 
indicators can include: 
*untreated medical condition 
*inadequate supervision 
*unsafe/unsanitary home conditions 
*poor hygiene, dehydration, lack of food 
 
EXPLOITATION is the unlawful or 
improper act of a person using an adult or 
their resources for monetary or personal 
benefit, profit, or gain. Some indicators can 
include:                           
*unexplained charges on an adult’s credit 
card 
*unexplained disappearance of funds 
*abrupt changes in a will or other financial 
documents 
*forgery of an adult’s signature for financial 
transactions 
 

WHO REPORTS? 
 
The Adult Protective Services Law requires 
most social service and senior service 
providers to report known or suspected 
abuse, neglect or exploitation. The list of 
required reporters includes: 
 
Physicians   
Attorneys   
Home Health Staff   
Social Workers  
Firefighters / EMS personnel 
Pharmacists 
Employees of Financial Institutions 
Certified Public Accountants 
Financial Planners 
Nurses 
Clergy 
Psychologists 
 
 
ANY PERSON with reasonable cause to 
believe that an adult is suffering abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation and who makes a 
report shall be immune from civil or 
criminal liability, unless the person has 
acted in bad faith or with malicious purpose. 
 
Abuse and neglect can occur in any setting. 
Most cases of adult abuse go undetected and 
unreported. Between July 1, 2017, and June 
30, 2018, a total of 14,597 reports of abuse, 
neglect and exploitation were received for 
adults over 60 throughout Ohio.  

 
 


