Skip to main content
Lake County, Ohio - Commissioners


Lake County Commissioner Daniel P. Troy


Dear Citizen:

Your comments or questions concerning

Lake County government are important to me.  
Please feel free to contact me by phone at 
440-350-2752 or [email protected]

If you would like to stop in and visit with me personally, please call and we'll get you on the schedule as quickly as possible.

Thanks for helping me do the job of helping you!



Daniel P. Troy, Commissioner


    Background and Achievements 
    Name: Daniel Patrick Troy 
    Personal: Born June 6, 1948 in Cleveland, OH 
    • St. Mary Magdalene Elementary-Willowick 
    • St. Joseph High-Cleveland 
    • University of Dayton -B.A. in Political Science
    • U.S. Army Veteran
    Residence: 31600 Lake Shore, Suite #37, Willowick, OH 44095 
    Home Phone: (440) 585-4591  Work Phone: (440) 350-2752  Email: [email protected]

     Government Service

  • Willowick City Councilman- 3 terms- (1972-77)
  • President -Lake County Council of Governments- 3 terms- (1975-78)
  • President- Willowick City Council- 2 terms- (1980-82)
  • State Representative for Western Lake County- 7 terms- (1983-96)

  • As a Member of Ohio House, served as Chairman of:

    • House Select Committee on Solid and Hazardous Waste
    • House Finance & Appropriations Education Sub-Committee
    • House Ways & Means
    • Joint House-Senate Committee on Education Oversight

    Elected Lake County Commissioner in 1998, Re-Elected in 2002, 2006, 2010, and 2014

    • President, County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) – 2008
    • Member - CCAO Board of Trustees (2000-Present)
    • 1st Vice-President, County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) - 2017
    • Chairman, CCAO Taxation and Finance Committee (2000-2005)(2013-2016)
    • Vice-Chair and former Chairman, National Association of Counties (NACo) Finance and Intergovernmental Affairs Steering Committee (FIGA)
    • Past Chairman, National Association of Counties (NACO) Fiscal Policy Subcommittee of FIGA Committee            
    • Co-Chair Ohio Commission on Local Government Reform & Collaboration (2008-2010)
    • Past Board President, NOACA (2016), previously served as Board President in 2004
    • Member, Northeast Ohio Area Coordinating Agency (NOACA) Governing Board(1999-Present)
    • Trustee, Chagrin River Watershed Partners Board
    • National Association of Counties (NACO) Board of Directors (2010-Present)
    • Northeast Ohio Public Energy Council (NOPEC) Board of Directors (2007-Present)
    • Lake County Campaign Coordinator for the Issue 1 Campaign to renew the State Capital Improvements Program on the May 6, 2014 ballot
    • At-Large Director, National Association of Regional Councils - 2017

    Academic Service

    Associate Instructor of Political Science (State & Local Government) at Lakeland Community College (2004-Present)

    Political Party Service

    • Ohio Democratic Party State Central Committee (1996-Present)
    • Lake County Democratic Party Central Committee (1976-Present)
    • Delegate to Democratic National Conventions (1976, 1984, 2004)

    Private Employment

    • Air Balance Technician for Kahoe Air Balance Co., in Eastlake (1967-75)
    • Air Balance Project Engineer for Professional Balance Co., in Willoughby (l975-88)
    • Chief Project Estimator for Professional Balance Co., in Willoughby (1997-1999)

    Organizations & Affiliations

    • Sheet Metal Workers Local #33-Cleveland
    • Chagrin River Salmon Association

    Awards & Recognitions

    • Recognized among the "Power 100" by Inside Business Magazine TEN times since 2005 (list not published in 2009)
    • Lake/Geauga Educational Assistance Foundation(LEAF) 2013 Honoree of the Year
    • NOACA Walter F. Ehrnfelt Award for Outstanding Regional Contribution - 2011
    • Ohio Nurses Foundation 2010 Nurses Choice Award
    • Best Friend of Lake Educational Assistance Foundation (LEAF) Award  - 2002
    • Lake County Soil and Water Conservation - 2002
    • Science Education Council of Ohio Friend of Science Award - 2001
    • Lakeland Community College Community Service Award- 1997
    • Ohio School Counselor Association - 1995
    • Friend of Ohio's Community Colleges Award- 1994
    • Ohio AMVETS Legislator of the Year- 1994
    • Ohio Sea Grant Leadership Award - 1993     
    • Ohio Student Loan Commission Legislative Service Award- 1992
    • Ohio Educational Broadcasters Commissioners Award- 1992
    • Ohio Coalition for the Education of Handicapped Children Legislative Leadership Award- 1989 & 1991
    • Ohio Vocational Education School Superintendents Man of the Year- 1989
    • Lake County Environmental Improvement Award- 1989, 2001
    • Ohio Sea Grant Distinguished Service Award- 1988
    • Lake County Police Chiefs Association Legislator of the Year Award- 1986
    • Association of Health Commissioners Distinguished Legislative Service Award - 1984


    Lake County Commissioner Daniel P. Troy, is currently in his fifth term in that office. Prior to his election as Commissioner in 1998, and subsequent re-elections in 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014, he served seven terms totaling 14 years in the Ohio House of Representatives from 1983 to 1996.


    During that tenure, Mr. Troy was chairman of the Ohio House Ways and Means Committee, the Education Subcommittee of the House Finance and Appropriations Committee, and the Joint House-Senate Education Oversight Committee.


    As State Representative, Mr. Troy was instrumental in securing the passage of numerous pieces of major legislation, including Ohio’s Solid Waste Law, required Articulation and Course Transfer Agreements between Ohio’s two and four year institutions of higher education, the Lake Erie Phosphorous Reduction Act, and a major rewrite of Ohio’s Enterprise Zone and Tax Abatement Program.  He was generally considered an expert on issues regarding budgeting and taxation.  He led efforts to secure over $20 million in state funding for Lakeland Community College’s Health Technologies, Student Center, and Library buildings.  He worked to establish and fund Ohio’s first elementary student Math and Science Center, benefiting Lake County’s 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders. 


    Prior to his service in the Ohio House, Mr. Troy was a city councilman and council president in the City of Willowick for five terms.   


    As a County Commissioner, Mr. Troy served as Governing Board President of the Northeast Ohio Areawide Coordinating Agency (NOACA), the MPO for the Greater Cleveland area, in 2004, and in 2016.  In 2011, NOACA  named Mr. Troy the recipient of the 2011 Walter F. Ehrnfelt Award for Outstanding Regional Contribution.  He has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) for 17 years, and served as its Association President in 2008. He recently served as Co-Chair of the Ohio Commission on Local Government Reform and Collaboration, and served as Chairman of the National Association of Counties (NACo) Fiscal and Intergovernmental Affairs Steering Committee.  Commissioner Troy is also one of Ohio’s two directors on the NACo Board of Directors.


    Commissioner Troy is a lifetime resident of northeastern Ohio, a graduate of Cleveland St. Joseph High School and the University of Dayton with a degree in political science, and a U.S. Army veteran.