
FEES FOR TITLE SERVICE 
Motor Vehicle 

Sec. 4505.09 Ohio Revised Code 
Certificate of Title $15.00 
Duplicate Certificate of Title    $15.00 
Memorandum Certificate of Title $  5.00 
Notation of Lien $15.00 
Out of State Physical Inspection Fee    $  1.50 
Salvage Title $  4.00 
Thirty (30) Day Late Filing Fee $  5.00 
Notary Fee $  1.00 

Watercraft 
Sec. 1548.10 Ohio Revised Code 

Certificate of Title $15.00 
Duplicate Certificate of Title    $15.00 
Memorandum Certificate of Title $  5.00 
Notation of Lien $15.00 
Thirty (30) Day Late Filing Fee $  5.00 
Notary Fee $  1.00 

Use Tax 
Sales Tax must be paid by a resident of Ohio when 
purchasing a motor vehicle outside of the state of Ohio.    
This applies to the purchase of any motor vehicle either for 
use or storage in Ohio.   If the tax has been paid to another 
state at the time of purchase, the customer must furnish 
proof.  We would only collect the difference if any is due. 

Sales Tax 
The Ohio State Legislature enacted a Sales Tax Law (effect‐
tive May 21, 1951) on a casual sale of any motor vehicle.   
Any person purchasing a motor vehicle from another    
person must state the purchase price upon which sales tax   
is levied.  (Lake County residents (7.00%) Sales   Tax will
depend upon residency of purchaser. Effective August 1, 
1981, all boats and motors became taxable vehicles.  Any 
person purchas‐ing a boat or motor from another person 
must state the purchase price upon which a sales tax is 
levied. 

Automobile & Watercraft 
Certificate of Title 

Carl DiFranco 
LAKE COUNTY 

 CLERK OF COMMON 
PLEAS COURTS 

AUTO TITLE OFFICES 

OFFICE HOURS: 

Monday through Friday 8 a.m.—4:30 p.m. 
Saturday 8 a.m.—Noon 

www.lakecountyohio.gov/coc 

Please visit our website to 
download forms. 

Automobile Title Information 
County of Residence 
You may apply for a Certificate of Title in any of Ohio’s 88 counties. 
State I.D. or Dr4ivers License is required. Taxes are calculated and 
paid to buyer’s county of residence. 

When You Buy a Car 
 Never make any alterations or erasures on a Certificate of Title. 

If done, the Title becomes null and void and a replacement will 
be needed. Do not fill in any part of the assignment or 
application on the reverse side unless it is done in the presence 
of Notary Public, Deputy Clerk or other individual with power to 
administer oaths. All signatures must be notarized. 

 If two names are to appear on the Title, both signatures and
social security numbers are required for all transactions in the 
state of Ohio. It is required that a State I.D. or Ohio Driver’s 
License (showing county of residency), be presented to the Title 
Office at time of transfer. Your Certificate of Title must be
processed within 30 days after the assignment or you will be 
subject to a fee of $5.00. 

 Always inspect any automobile you buy, checking that the Serial 
Number corresponds with the Number on your Certificate of 
Title. A Federal Odometer Statement is required for vehicles less
than 10 years old. 

When You Sell Your Car 
 Do not execute the assignment on the reverse side of the 

Certificate of Title until the sale has been completed. Make 
certain that the buyer’s full name and address is inserted before 
you sign the assignment. Initials are not acceptable.  Full legal 
name (no nicknames) is required. 

 The seller must provide a Federal Odometer Statement.

Memorandum Certificate 
You cannot transfer ownership of an automobile with the 
Memorandum Certificate of Title (white copy). It is issued only for 
the purpose of obtaining License Plates when the Original Title is 
held by the lien holder. 

Duplicate Titles 
If the Original Title is lost, stolen or destroyed, you may obtain a 
Duplicate Certificate of Title. 

When You Have a Mortgage On Your Car 
 If you apply for a loan using your car as collateral, always insist 

upon getting a Memorandum Certificate of Title with which you
can obtain license plates. 

 Upon satisfaction of your mortgage, you should receive the 
original certificate of title from the bank or finance company.

 If the bank is an electronic lienholder, you must apply and pay 
for an original title after the lien is properly discharged and
cancelled by the Clerk of Courts. 

ATVs/Off‐Road M/C 
All ATVs/off‐road motorcycles require titles. 

Self‐assembled Vehicles 
Self‐assembled vehicles must be inspected by the Highway Patrol 
prior to Titling. If you build a Motor Vehicle, you must execute an 
affidavit of fact to present to the Title Office along with the Bill of 
Sale for purchased parts and Certificate of title for any motor 
vehicle used n the construction. 

Salvaged Vehicle 
 Damaged and wrecked vehicles may require a salvage title.

The owner must present a valid Ohio title, identification and 
$5.00. Salvaged Autos are not operable on the highway until
they are rebuilt and inspected by the State Highway Patrol. 

 When you sell your car to a Salvage Dealer, you must 
surrender your signed and notarized Certificate of Title to the 
dealer with the assignment completed. 

 To convert a Salvage Title to a Regular Title, an inspection 
must be made by the State Highway Patrol. A fee of $50.00 is
charged and payable to the BMV. The application for the 
inspection may be obtained at an Ohio License Bureau or the 
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles in Columbus.

Motor Home 
A Certificate of Title is required for a Motor Home. To convert a 
Van to a Motor Home or after permanent attachment of a 
camping unit to your pick‐up truck, you must record this “Body 
Change” with your Clerk of Courts. Both original titles for the 
Truck Camper and Pick‐up truck must be presented for this 
change. 

Body Change 
Whenever a vehicle has been changed from one type of vehicle 
to another, this must be recorded with your Clerk of Courts. 

Manufactured—Mobile Home 
The owner of a Manufactured Home is required to obtain a 
Certificate of Title. All Manufactured Home titles must have a Tax 
Approval Stamp from the County Treasurer’s Office and 
Conveyance Fee Stamp from the County Auditor’s Office where 
the Manufactured Home is located before transfer. They are 
transferred in the same manner as Motor Vehicles. 

Title Central
8804 Mentor Ave.   
Mentor, OH  4406

440-350-2800

Title West 
30188 Euclid Ave. 
Wickliffe, OH 44092 

440‐918‐3425 



Watercraft Title 
Information

Trailers 
(TRUCK CAMPERS)  Effective 8/27/1976, the Certificate of 
Title law was amended for the issuance of Titles for all Truck 
Campers. They must be Titled in the State of Ohio and are 
transferred in the same manner as motor vehicles. 

(TRAVEL TRAILERS) Effective 9/16/1963, the Certificate of 
Title was amended for the issuance of Titles for all Truck 
Campers. They must be Titled in the State of Ohio and are 
transferred in the same manner as motor vehicles. 

(COMMERCIAL TRAILERS) A certificate of Title is not 
required on any Utility-Commercial Trailer weighing less than 
4,000 pounds. To obtain license plates, you must procure a 
weight card from a weigh station. Commercial Trailers or 
Semi-Trailers weighing in excess of 4,000 pounds must have 
a Certificate of Title. To sell, transfer or mortgage such 
trailers, the Certificate of Title must be presented. 

Minor Consent 
A minor Consent form must be completed before a Title can 
be issued to the Minor. Proper I.D. is required. 

Power of Attorney 
No person can sign for you without a Notarized Power of 
Attorney Form. See our website for forms. 

Out-of-State Vehicle Inspection 
Any vehicle transferred from Out-of-State to an Ohio Title 
must be physically inspected by an authorized new or used 
car dealer or any Deputy Registrar. The customer pays the 
$3.50 inspection fee to the Inspector and $1.50 to the title 
Office when the Ohio title is issued. 

Change of Name 
If your name changes through marriage or court 
proceedings, the name on your Certificate of Title cannot be 
changed. There is no authority in the law to issue a new Title 
in your new name for the same vehicle unless court ordered. 

Surviving Spouse (Auto Title) 
A surviving spouse may take title to two automobiles (one 
may be a motorcycle), one boat and a motor, if not dis-posed 
of by will. (Total value may not exceed $40,000.) For other 
vehicle transfers, proper probate authority is required. 

Frequently asked Questions 

You have moved to Ohio from another State. You won 
the vehicle fee and clear of any liens and it is Titled in 
your name only. You will need the following: 
 Original Out of State Title
 State I.D. or Ohio driver’s license
Out of State Vehicle Inspection
 Cash, personal check, cashier’s check or money order for

the Title Fees

You have moved from another State. The Title is in 
more than one name and you are making payments to 
a lender. You will need the following: 
 Original Out of State Title Notarized Power of Attorney from

Lease Company allowing you to sign for them
 Out of State Vehicle Inspection
 State I.D. or Ohio driver’s license
 Cash, personal check, cashier’s check or money order for

the Title Fees 

You have purchased a vehicle from an individual who 
lives in Ohio. You will need the following: 
 The Original Ohio title with the top half of the reverse side

completed by the seller and notarized. If the Title is a Gold
Title and the vehicle has no place for mileage, you will need
a Federal Odometer Statement with the seller’s portion
completed.

 State I.D. or Ohio driver’s license
 Cash, personal check, cashier’s check or money order for

the sales tax and Title Fees

You have purchased a used vehicle from an individual 
in another state. You will need the following: 
 The Original Title from the state in which the seller resides.

The assignment must be complete and if the Title
document has a space for a Notary Public, it must be
notarized.

 Out of State Vehicle Inspection
 Bill of Sale if purchased from a dealer
 State I.D. or Ohio driver’s license
 Loan papers if applicable
 Cash, personal check, cashier’s check, or money order for

taxes and title Fees

You have purchased a new vehicle from an out of state 
dealer. You will need the following: 
 Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) from the Dealer
 Bill of Sale
 Federal Odometer Statement 
 State I.D. or Ohio driver’s license
 Cash, personal check, cashier’s check, or money order for

taxes and title Fees

You have purchased a used vehicle from a dealer in 
another state. You will need the following: 
 The Out of State Title signed over to you by the Dealer
 An original or certified copy of the Bill of Sale
 Federal Odometer Statement 
 Out of State Vehicle Inspection
 State I.D. or Ohio driver’s license
 Cash, personal check, cashier’s check, or money order for

taxes and Title Fees 

Buying a Boat or Motor 
A Certificate of Title is required on all boats 14 feet or longer 
and all outboard motors 10 H.P. or greater. A Canoe or Kayak 
is exempt. Boats, including jet skis, 14’ or less with an inboard 
motor, 10 H.P. or greater are titled. 

Before purchasing a boat or motor, be sure the seller has the 
Certificate of Title. The seller is required to assign the Ohio 
Watercraft Registration Card to you.  

No registration is required for outboard motors. 

Transfer of Title 
Your title will be issued to you by the Clerk of Courts to the 
county of your residence regardless of the location of the 
boat. Do not accept the title from the seller until they have 
their signature notarized and your name is shown as the 
buyer. 

Selling a Boat or Motor 
 Do not execute the assignment on the reverse side

of the Certificate of Title until the sale is complete.
Be certain that the buyer’s full name and address is
inserted before you sign the assignment.

 Initials are not acceptable
 You must have your signature notarized
 If you do not have a Title for your boat or motor and

have owned the boat or motor prior to October 10,
1963, your Clerk of Courts may issue a Title based
on the evidence you present.

Hull Identification Number 
 Federal Boating Acts require all boats

manufactured after November 1972, to show a Hull
Identification Number (Serial Number) of not less
than 12 characters.

 If you have a 1973 or newer model boat, compare
the H.I.N. with the number on your Title. If they
differ, contact the Ohio Division of Watercraft.

Serial Numbers 
If there is no manufacturer’s Serial Number, or if it has 
been removed, a Serial Number must be affixed to the 
boat or motor before a Certificate of Title can be issued.  
Application for a Serial Number is made to the Ohio 
Department of Natural Resources Division of Watercraft. 
Forms may be obtained via the website 
www.ohiodnr.com/watercraft or by contacting the 
Department of Watercraft at 614-265-6480. 

Registration 
To Renew or to apply for a new Watercraft Registration, 
you must present your Certificate of Title to a Boat 
Registrar. 

Documentation
Documented vessels are not Titled in Ohio, but are 
registered by the U.S. Coast Guard. 

Surviving Spouse (Watercraft) 
The surviving, spouse can take Title to one boat and 
one motor if not disposed of by Will. For other boat or 
motor transfers, proper Probate authority is required. 




