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HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION QUALIFICATIONS

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

In July 2007, the law governing the Homestead Exemption was changed to include ALL
homeowners, regardless of income, if they were 65 years of age or totally disabled (if less than
65) and owned and occupied their home as of January 1st. The new law exempts the first
$25,000 of value, thus reducing the amount of taxes on your property.

1). You must be 65 years of age (or turn 65) in the year you are applying for or be
permanently or totally disabled regardless of age, as certified by the Social Security
Administration.

2). You must own your home and/or manufactured home as of January 1* of the year for
which you are applying and you must be occupying it as your primary place of residence
at the time of application. In other words, it must be your voting and mailing address.

3).*** In Lake County, PROOF OF AGE IS A REQUIREMENT. A photocopy of one of the
following is acceptable; a driver’s license (current or expired), State of Ohio ID card,
birth certificate or passport (current or expired) and must be included with your
application. The application must be filed by Monday, June 3, 2013.

4).*** |f your home is currently in a Trust or Life Estate, please submit A COPY OF THE
PAGE OF THE TRUST (OR PAGES) THAT SHOW THE TYPE OF TRUST
WITH YOUR APPLICATION. Per Ohio Law, certain Irrevocable Trusts do not allow
you to qualify for the exemptions.

If you would have qualified for Homestead in 2012 (per the requirements above) and did not
apply, please check the “Late application for prior year” box on the application as well as the
current application box. You must have owned the home as of January 1, 2012.

For more information or questions, please contact us at (440) 350-2536.
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Homestead Exemption Application for Senior Citizens,
Disabled Persons and Surviving Spouses

File with the county auditor after the first Monday in January and on or before the first Monday in June.

Please read the instructions on the back of this AUDITOR'S USE ONLY
form before you complete it. Disabled applicants
must complete form DTE 105k, Certificate of Dis- | Taxing district and parcel or registration number.

ability for the Homestead Exemption, and atlach it
or a separate certification of disability status from
an eligible state or federal agency o this applica-
tion. See the instructions for a Late Application on B
the back of this form. [ ] cranted [ Denied

First year for homestaad examption

Auditor's application number

{_Vi Current application [jLate appiication for prior year
Type of application: [} Senior citizen (age 85 and older) [3 Disabled person [J Surviving spouse
Type of home: ii Single family dwelling [iTJUnit i a mutti-unit dwelling (J Condominium

Applicanl's name Appiicant’s date of birth

Name of spouse Spouse’s date of birth

Home address

County in which home is located

Taxing district and parcel or registration number
from lax bill or available from county auditor

In order to be eligible for the homestead exemption, one of the following statements must apply 1o the applicant’s interest in the
propery. Property that is owned by a corporalion, partnership, limited liability company or other legal entity does not qualify for
the exemption. Check the box thal applies to this preperty. The applicant is:

D an individual named on the deed [_J the setilor, under a revocable orirrevocable inter vivos trust,
) where the appficant has complete controf of the assets in
[j a purchaser under a land installment contract the trust

|_lalife tenant under a fife estate [ a stockholder in a gualified housing cooperative. See DTE

| ] a mortgagor {borrower) for an outstanding morlgage 105A/Supplementat for additional information.

If the applicant or the applicant's spouse owns a second or vacation home, please provide the address and county below.

Address City State ZIP code County

| declare under penaity of perjury that (1)1 occupied this property as my principal place of residence on Jan. 1 of the year(s) for
which | am requesting the homestead exemption, (2) | currentiy occupy this property as my principal place of residence, 3) |
did not acquire this homestead from a relative or in-law, otber than my spouse, for the purpose of qualitying for the hemestead
exemption, and {4} | have examined this application, and to the best of my knowiedge and belief, this application is true,

correct and complete.

Signature of applicant Dale

Mailing address

Phone number E-mail address



Lake County Requires Proof of Age And Copy of Trust Agreements

Please read before you complete the application.

What is the Homestead Exemption? The homestead ex-
emption provides a reduction in property faxes to any senior
or disahied citizen, regardiess of income, on the dwelling that
is that individual's principal place of residence and up to one
acre of land of which an efigible individual is an owner. The
reduction is equal to the taxes thal would otherwise be charged
on up e $25,000 of the markel value of an eligible taxpayer's
homestead.

what Your Signature Means: By signing the front of this
form, you affirm under penaity of perjury that your stalements
on ihe form are true, accurale, and compiete o the best of
your knowledge and beliel. A conviction of willfully falsifying
information on this application will resuit in the loss of the
homesiead exemption for a period of three ygars.

Qualifications for the Homestead Exemption for Real
Property: Toreceive the homeslead exemption you must be
(1) atleast 65 years of age during lhe year you first file, or be
determined to have been permanently and lotally disabled
{(see definilion at right}, or be a surviving spouse (see defini-
tion at right), and (2) own and have occupied your home as
your principal place of residence on Jan. 1 of the year in
which you file the application. A person only has one principal
place of residence; your principai place of residence deter-
mines, amang other things, where you are registered to vote
and where you declare residency for income {ax purposes.
You may be required to present evidence of age. if the prop-
erly is being purchased under a Jand contract, is owned by a
life estate or by a trust, or the applicantis the mortgagor of
the property, you may be required to provide copies of any
contracts, trust agreements, mortgages or other documents
{hat identify the applicant's eligible ownership interestin the
home.

Qualifications for the Homestead Exemption for Manu-
factured or Mobile Homes: To receive the homestead ex-
emption you musl be (1) at ieasl 65 years of age during the
year following lhe yearin which you first file, or be determined
to be permanently and tolally disabled (see definition at right),
or be a surviving spouse (see definition at right), and (2) own
and ocoupy your home as your principal place of residence
on Jan. 1 of the year following the year in which you file the

application. A person onfy has one principal place of resi-
dence; your principal place of residence determines, among
other things, where you are regislered to vote and where you
declare residency for income tax PUrposes. You may be re-
quired to present evidence of age. If the property is being
purchased undera land contract, is owned by a life estate or
by a trust, or the applicant is the mortgagor of the property,
you may be required lo provide copies of any contracts, frust
agreements, morlgages of other documnents that identify the
applicant’s eligible ownership interest in the home.

Current Application: if you qualify for the homestead ex-
emption for the firsttime tiis year (for reat property) or for the
first time nexl year (for manufactured or mobile homes), check
the box for Current Application on the front of this form.

Late Application: if you also qualified for the homestead
exemption for last year (for real property) or for this year (for
manufactured or mobile homes) on the same property for
which you are filing a current application, but you did not file
a current application for that year, you may file a late applica-
tion for the missed year by checking the late application box
on the front of this form. You may only file a late application
for the same property for which you are filing a current appli-
cation.

Definition of a Surviving Spouse: An gligible surviving
spouse must (1) be the surviving spouse of a person who was
receiving the homestead exemption by reason of age or dis-
ability for the year in which the death occurred, and (2) must
have been at least 59 years old on the date of the decedent's

death.

permanent Disability: Permanent and totally disabled
means a person who has, on the first day of January of the
year for which the homestead exempticn is requested, some
impairment of body or mind that makes him/her unfit to work
at any substantially remunerative employment which he/she
is reasonably ahle to perform and which will, with reasonable
probability, continue for an indefinite period of at least twelve
months without any present indication of recovery, of who
has been certified as totalty and permanently disabled by an
eligible state or federai agency.

FOR COUNTY AUDITOR'S USE ONLY:

Date filed

Name on tax duplicate

Taxable value of homestead: Taxable fand

Taxable bldgo—— Taxabie total
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