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HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION QUALIFICATIONS

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

In July 2013, the law governing the Homestead Exemption was changed to an income based
program for homeowners who were 65 years of age or totally disabled (if less than 65) and

- owned and occupied their home as of January 1st. The new law exempts the first $25,000 of
value, thus reducing the amount of taxes on your property.

).

2).

3).

You must be 65 years of age (or turn 65) in the year you are applying for or be
permanently or totally disabled regardless of age, as certified by the Social Security
Administration.

The income is based on your Ohio Adjusted Gross Income. The total amount of income
for tax year 2014 must be under $31,000. This income based program applies to
homeowners that are turning 65 in 2014 as well as those persons qualifying under the
disability exemption.

You must own your home and/or manufactured home as of January 1% of the year for
which you are applying and you must be occupying it as your primary place of residence
at the time of application. In other words, it must be your voting and mailing address.

In Lake County, PROOF OF AGE IS A REQUIREMENT. A photocopy of one of the
following is acceptable; a driver’s license (current or expired), State of Ohio ID card,
birth certificate or passport (current or expired) and must be included with your
application. The application must be filed by Monday, June 1, 2015.

5).*** If your home is currently in a Trust or Life Estate, please submit A COPY OF THE

6).

PAGE OF THE TRUST (OR PAGES) THAT SHOW THE TYPE OF TRUST
WITH YOUR APPLICATION. Per Ohio Law, certain Irrevocable Trusts do not allow
you to qualify for the exemptions.

If you would have qualified for Homestead in 2014 and did not apply, please check the
“Late application for prior year” box on the application as well as current application

box. If you are filing a Late application, then the total amount of income must be under
$30,500.

For more information or questions, please contact us at (440} 350-2536.
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Homestead Exemption Application for Senior Citizens,
Disabled Persons and Surviving Spouses
File with the county auditor after the first Monday in January and on or before the first Monday in June.

Please read the instructions on the back of this form before you complete it. Disabled applicants must complete form DTE 105E,
Certificate of Disability for the Homestead Exemption, and attach it or a separate certification of disability status from an eligible state or
federal agency to this application. See Late Application in the instructions on page 3 of this form.

L__l Current application
D Late application for prior year

‘ D Application of person who received homestead reduction for 2013 or for 2014 for manufactured or mobile homes. Form DTE 105G
must accompany this application.

D Application of person who received the homestead reduction for 2006 that is greater than the reduction calculated under the current law.
Form DTE 105G must accompany this application.

Type of application:
D Senior citizen {must be at least age 65 by Dec. 31st of the year for which the exemption is sought)
El Disabled person (must be permanently and totally disabled on Jan. 1 of the year for which exemption is sought)

':l Surviving spouse {must have been at least 59 years old on the date of the spouse’s death and must meet all cther homestead exemp-
tion requirements)

Type of home:
D Single family dwelling D Unit in a multi-unit dwelling D Condominium D Unit in a housing cooperative
D Manufactured or mobile home EI Land under a manufactured or mobile home

Applicant's name Applicant's date of birth SSN

Name of spouse : Spouse's date of biith SSN

Home address

County in which home is located

Taxing district and parcel or registration number.

from tax bilt or available from county auditor

FOR COUNTY AUDITOR’S USE ONLY:

Taxing district and parcel or registration number. Auditor's application number

First year for homestead exemption

Date filed

Name on tax duplicate

Taxable value of homestead: Taxable land Taxable bldg. Taxable total

Method of Verification (must complete one):

Tax commissioner portal: Year— Total OAGI No information returned
Chio tax return {line 3): Year— Total QAGI
Federal tax return (fine 4, 1040EZ): Year——_ Total FAGI

(lne 21, 1040A): Year—______ Total FAGI

(line 37, 1040): Year—__ Total FAGI

Worksheet (attached). Estimated OAGI
D Granted D Denied

County auditor (or representative} Date
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in order to be eligible for the homestead exemption, the form of ownership must be identified. Property that is owned by a corporation,
partnership, limited fiability company or other legal entity does not qualify for the exemption. Check the box that applies to this property.

The applicant is:

D an individual named on the deed

D a purchaser under a [and installment contract

L—_] a life tenant under a life estate

[:] a mortgagor {borrawer) for an outstanding mortgage
- |:| trustee of a trust with the right to live in the property

D the settlor, under a revacable or irrevocable inter vivos frust, holding title to a homestead occupied by the settlor as a right under the
trust

D a stockholder in a qualified housing cooperative. See form DTE 103A - Supplement for additional information.

I:l other

If the applicant or the applicant's spouse owns & secend or vacation home, please provide the address and county below.

Address City State ZIP code County

Have you or do you intend to file an Ohio income tax return for last year? D Yes D No

Fotal income for the year preceding year of application, if known (see instructions):

{ declare under penalty of perjury that (1) | occupied this property as my principal place of residence on Jan, 1 of the year(s) for which |
am requesting the homestead exemption, (2) | currently occupy this property as my principal place of residence, (3) | did not acquire this
homestead from a reiative or in-law, other than my spouse, for the purpose of qualifying for the homestead exemption, (4} my total income
for myself and my spouse for the preceding year is as indicated above and (5) |-have examined this apglication, and to the best of my
knowledge and belief, this application is true, correct and complete. i

| {we) acknowledge that by signing this application, | {we} delegaie ta both the Ohio tax commissiorer and ta the auditor of the county in which the
property for which | am seeking exemption is located, and to their designated agents, the authority o refease my tax and/or inancial records and
to examing and consult regarding such records for the pumose of determining my eligibility for the homestead exemption or a possible violation of
the homestead laws. Such records shall not contain any federal tax information as defined in I.R.C. 6103 and received from the Internal Revenue
Service. | expressly waive the confidentiality provisions of the Ohio Revised Cade, including O R.C. 5703.21 and 5747 .18, which may otherwise
prohibit disclosure, and agree to hold the Chio tax commissioner and county auditor harmless with respect to the limited disclosures herein. Excelpt
as authorized by law, the parties to which this authority is delegated shall maintain the configentiality of the information received and the information
shall niot otherwise be re-disclosed.

Signature of applicant Signature of spouse
Mailing address : Date
Phene number E-mail address
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Addendum to the Homestead Exemption Application for
Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons and Surviving Spouses’ |
For applidants who have previously received the homestead exemption under R.C. 323.152(A){2)(b).
individuals who received the homestead exemption for tax year 2013 (2014 for manufactured and mobile homies) on any

residence may continue to receive the homestead exemption oir another residence within the state without meeting the
income test currently required for.the exemption, if a different residence otherwise meets the qualification of a homestead.

In order to assure that an applicant has previously received the* homestead exemption for the aged or disabled, certain
information must be made available to the county-auditor. -

Appﬁcant's name

Applicant’s current home address

Taxing district and parcel or registration number of current home

County in which prior homestead was granted

Address for which prior homestead was granted

Taxing disirict and parcel or registration number of prior home

| declare under penalty of perjury that | was receiving the homestead exemption for tax year 2013 (2014 for manufactured
and mobile homes) on the property described in this addendum, and have examined this document and, to the best of my
knowledge and hefief, it is true, correct and complete. -

Signature of applicant ‘Date’™

Mailing address

FPhone numbker E-mail address




