
DTE 23A

Rev 10/15

Property tax type:  First half  Second half

  5% penalty   10% penalty

  Tax was not paid by due date because of negligence or error of the Auditor or Treasurer (explain below).

  Taxpayer did not receive a tax bill or a correct tax bill and attempted to obtain one on (date)  

  Tax was not timely paid because of serious injury, death or hospitalization of the taxpayer (within 60 days preceding 

  the due date), but was paid within 60 days after the due date.  Taxpayer must submit proof of the above.

  Tax payment was mailed on or before due date (submit evidence of timely mailing).  A private meter postmark 

  on envelope is not a valid postmark for establishing the payment date.

   Taxpayer did not receive a tax bill because the mortgage lender failed to notify the auditor that the mortgage

   was satisfied and the bill was not sent to the taxpayer.  The penalty waiver applies only to the first tax bill after

   satisfaction of the mortgage.

  Taxpayer's failure to make timely payment of the tax was due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect (explain

  below).

Taxpayer statement (use additional pages if necessary) :  

I declare under penalties of perjury that this report is true,
correct and complete.

Taxpayer signature

Daytime phone number

E-mail Address

Lake County Treasurer

Application for the Remission of Real Property and
Manufactured Home Late-Payment Penalties (R.C. 5715.39)

File this form with the 

county treasurer.

Lorraine M. Fende

105 Main Street

Painesville, Ohio  44077

440-350-2516

440-350-2623 fax

Owner of property Parcel or I.D. # of property

Date Received by TreasurerTaxpayer Instructions: Complete the front of this form and file it with the County Treasurer.

Attach a copy of all evidence to the form, complete the name and address blank and sign

the form.  If penalties have accrued for more than one late payment, a separate application

must be filed for each penalty.  Please send completed form to the County Treasurer of the

county in which the property is located.

Date Received by Auditor

  Manufactured home Tax Year   Real

Amount of penalty  $

Date taxes were due Date taxes and interest were paid

Date entered into a playment plan

Please check all the reasons the penalty should be remitted and explain below.

City/State/Zip Code

Date

Taxpayer's Right of Review

Within 60 days after the decision of the County Auditor or Board of Revision is mailed, the taxpayer may apply to the tax commissioner to review the 

denial of the penalty remission by the Auditor or Board.  The Tax Commissioner must receive the appeal by the 60th day following the day the county's 

decision is mailed.  However, if the appeal is mailed by certified mail the date of the U.S. postmark placed on your receipt by the postal service will be 

treated as the dated filed.  The taxpayer should apply for review in the form of a letter to the Tax Commissioner and include a copy of the denial issued by 

the Auditor or Board of Revision, the DTE form 23A returned by the Auditor or the Board that indicates the decision and copies of attachments filed with 

the original form.  Send the request for review to the Ohio Department of Taxation, Tax Equalization Division, P.O. Box 530, Columbus, Ohio 43216-0530.

County  

Case no.  

Print name and address below

Name

Address



Review the form for completeness and verify the accuracy of the penalty amount and date that taxes were due and paid.  If the taxpayer

has a late payment history, include the amount(s) and tax period(s) for the preceding three years.  Retain a copy of the

application or your records.  Forward the completed application with any attachments to the County Auditor.

The County Treasurer should check all that apply:

  Penalty accrued because of the negligence or error of a county officer (explain below).  This would include the Treasurer accepting a

  change of address from someone other than the property owner.

  Taxpayer failed to receive a tax bill or a correct bill and made a good faith effort to obtain the bill within 30 days after the due date.

  Date of request

  Tax was not timely paid because of the serious injury, death or hospitalization of the taxpayer within 60 days preceding the due date,

  but was paid with 60 days after the due date.

  Date of death or hospitalization Date of payment

  Taxpayer demonstrated that timely payment was mailed.  A private meter postmark is not valid for establishing the date of payment.

  Taxpayer has not made a late payment for any real property taxes owed by the taxpayer during the preceding three yars.

Treasurer's comments (include late payment history for the preceding three years)

Recommendation:    Grant   Deny Signature of Treasurer

The Auditor must consider each of the first four reasons on the form to remit the penalty whether or not checked by the taxpayer.  The 

Auditor cannot use reasonable cause to remit a late payment penalty.  If the taxpayer checks the reasonable cause box and remission is

not granted for another reason, the Auditor must deliver the application to the Board of Revision for considertion.  If the applicant does

not check the reasonable cause box, and the Auditor determines that none of the other four reasons is applicable, the Auditor may

deliver the application to the Board of Revision for a determination on reasonable cause, if the Auditor believes it is a valid reason to remit

the penalties.  Any decision regarding reasonable cause must be made by the Board of Revision.  If the Auditor does not forward the

application to the Board of Revision, the Auditor must notify the taxpayer of its decision by completing the section below

and returning a copy of the form to the taxpayer.

Before the county auditor, the remission is hereby: Date:  

  Granted   Denied

A copy of this decision was mailed to the taxpayer on: Date:  

If the application is denied, state the reason for denial (use additional pages if necessary):

If the Auditor forwards the application to the Board of Revision, the board must review the request for remission to determine whether the

late payment was due to reasonable cause and not the willful neglect of the taxpayer.  The board must notify the taxpayer of its 

decision by completing the section below and returning a copy of the completed form to the taxpayer.

Before the Board of Revision, the remission is hereby: Date:  

  Granted   Denied

A copy of this decision was mailed to the taxpayer on: Date:  

If the application is denied, state the reason for denial (use additional pages if necessary):

County Treasurer Instructions

Decision of the County Auditor

Date

County Auditor Instructions

Signature of County Auditor

Board of Revision Instructions

Decision of the Board of Revision

Signature of clerk of the Board of Revision


